OMM Member Spotlight-Michelle Gutierrez of Ms. Hoverfly

(Repost)

michelle gutierrezMeet Michelle Gutierrez of Ms. Hoverfly.  Following is the story of her business, how it came to be and what the future holds for her and her business.

1. Business name, description and what makes it special

ms hoverfly logoMs. Hoverfly is the name of my Virtual Assistant business. I specifically help small business owners with social media however, I also build websites, maintain websites, manage email lists, as well as a variety of projects involving everything from blog writing to surveys. I am a catch all for the small/online business owner. My VA business is unique in that I empathize greatly with each and every client; taking on their business as if it were my own. This month I started the first Ms. Hoverfly VA training course that has proven to be a huge success by not only the volume of women signed up but the wonderful feedback I am receiving from these future-parent-preneurs as well!

2. ‘Ah ha’ moment that led to launching this business:

The day that I knew I needed to start my own business was the first day I had to drop my son of at the sitters when he was only 5 weeks old.

3. Tell us about how you got your first customer.

My very first client was a referral from a friend I met through a networking group I started called, Dynamic Business Moms.

4. How do you measure success?

I feel successful when I feel balanced. If my home and family are running well, and my business is growing either by gaining new clients or helping other moms learn how to build their own VA business.

5. Ever felt like throwing in the towel?

NO. I have failed many times but giving up has never been an option. I just took my “failures” and turned them into learning experiences.

6. One thing I wish I would have known…

One thing I wish I would have known is how very hard it would be to run a business while caring for 2 young children. The learning curve has been a long one but no regrets.

7. Moving forward…

 I want to grown the training side of my business. Since teaching was my first love, I find that being able to combine my business with teaching others very rewarding

8. The absolute best part of being self-employed is…

The absolute best part of being self-employed is I am in control of my children’s lives and daily activities. I get to see them grow daily and be a part of their education that is a magnificent feeling of accomplishment.

9. The absolute best part of being a parent is… watching them enjoy life and all that it has to offer. Just getting the chance to be a part of their lives and see them grow is such a blessing.

10. I never imagined…that I would ever want something more than I wanted to teach, but I did when my son was born. I wanted him more than any career or thing in this world. I would gladly give it all away again if it meant I would get to be a part of this incredible journey!

You can find Ms. Hoverfly on Facebook and Twitter.

About A Wishful Thought

I am a military wife, mother, business owner, professional writer, blogger and legislative advocate. I am an entrepreneur. At Villanova University I studied Operations Management specializing in Program and Project Management. I worked at various oil refineries honing my skills and ultimately opened my own consulting firm. I consulted on Environmental Restoration and defense projects including software development, satellite development and programming, phased array radars, helicopter and tank development, etc. I decided to take new direction in life when I became pregnant in 2000. I founded my own corporation, Wish Enterprises, Inc., to fulfill my own wish of being able to stay home with my son while contributing to the family income. With my husband’s full support, I developed and founded The Wish Place. I now also own Buy By Mom to continue to my mission of assisting parents who want to be successful in their businesses. I am the Director of Communications for Our Milk Money, the Colorado State Leader for the National Association for Moms in Business and the Colorado State Coordinator for Smart Girl Politics. I am a professional writer and blogger. I am the Colorado Springs Stay-at-Home Moms Examiner for Examiner.com. I write articles for work at home parents on my blog associated with The Wish Place. I review products produced by moms and dads and feature businesses run by moms and dads on my Buy By Mom blog. I write for various online publications and am also a political writer. My specialty is connecting people with great home business opportunities and providing unmatched one-on-one mentorship to those starting a home business. My passion, purpose and goal is to help parents work from home so they can be home with their children. To that end, I am a Legislative Advocate at the National and State levels to influence policy so that it is favorable to those in business.
This entry was posted in Julianne Wish, Member Contributions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

