November Member Spotlight – Angela Broxterman

Meet Angela Broxterman.  She was born and raised in Houston, TX.  Work and life has led her to live in Raleigh-Durham, Chicago, San Francisco, & Dallas (all great places!) all within the last 6 years.  She is excited to be settled back in the Bay Area with her husband and 2 amazing children.

Please tell us about your business and the service that you provide:

Just Between Friends is a semi-annual children’s and maternity consignment sales event.  Shoppers enjoy 50-90% off retail prices on everything from children’s clothing, shoes, and accessories to toys, furniture and equipment.  Consignors earn 60% on the sales of their items that we personally merchandise for them during the event.

Volunteers at the event get to shop first, before the public, and they also earn 65% on their items if they consign!  All donated, unsold items at the end of the event are given to our charity partner, Shelter Network of San Mateo County, which serves over 1,700 homeless children on the Peninsula.

What motivated you to start your business?

I learned about Just Between Friends when I was living in Texas and couldn’t wait to move back to the Bay Area to introduce this awesome concept to my community here.  I knew it was a business that this area would embrace.

What kind of background or expertise do you have in your field?

I was a benefits consultant for 4 years and gained a great amount of project management experience during that time.  I earned my MBA in 2004 and have been working as an online marketing manager/consultant since 2004.  I hope that these 2 career experiences will allow me to plan thoughtfully for our big events and help me in reaching the appropriate audiences in my community.

What trends do you see in your current industry?

As unemployment rates and gas prices continue to soar, families are looking for ways to save.  Reselling is on the rise and consignment is a concept that many more people embrace in a tough economy.  Even still, I believe as the economy rebounds, families will always be looking for ways to save money, invest in their environment and recycle, and most importantly, give back to their communities.

What are the most demanding aspects about your business?

Time management with 2 small children at home!  Owning your own business doesn’t mean work stops at 5 pm.  It’s on my mind 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and juggling work and home life is always a challenge.

What are the most rewarding aspects about your business?

Watching the excitement of a family on a tight budget find that special item at our consignment sale that their kids have been wanting.  And even more rewarding, loading up a huge Shelter Network donation truck, full of items that will put smiles on the faces of many homeless families in our community.

What advice would you give to someone interested in starting a business like yours?

There is no time like the present!

What are you most proud of as a parent-preneur?

I’m proud of taking a leap of faith and going for something I have felt strongly about in the last year.  It’s intimidating to own your own business.  You have fears of failure and question every business decision you make.  But it’s an incredible learning experience and hopefully one that will benefit me and my family in all aspects of our lives in the future.

How have you been able to balance your time between work and your family?

I have an amazing husband who is 100% supportive and family and friends that want to help in any way they can.  Having a support system is key.

What has been the most effective way for you to promote and market yourself?

An enthusiastic voice!  As soon as I start talking about Just Between Friends, people want to learn more.  Word of mouth can never, ever be underestimated.

Finally: What does your “Milk Money” provide for you and your family?

At the very least, extra goodies for my kids.  At the very most, more quality time spent with my family…vacationing and visiting our extended family spread out all around the country.

Find Angela’s business on Facebook.

About A Wishful Thought

I am a military wife, mother, business owner, professional writer, blogger and legislative advocate. I am an entrepreneur. At Villanova University I studied Operations Management specializing in Program and Project Management. I worked at various oil refineries honing my skills and ultimately opened my own consulting firm. I consulted on Environmental Restoration and defense projects including software development, satellite development and programming, phased array radars, helicopter and tank development, etc. I decided to take new direction in life when I became pregnant in 2000. I founded my own corporation, Wish Enterprises, Inc., to fulfill my own wish of being able to stay home with my son while contributing to the family income. With my husband’s full support, I developed and founded The Wish Place. I now also own Buy By Mom to continue to my mission of assisting parents who want to be successful in their businesses. I am the Director of Communications for Our Milk Money, the Colorado State Leader for the National Association for Moms in Business and the Colorado State Coordinator for Smart Girl Politics. I am a professional writer and blogger. I am the Colorado Springs Stay-at-Home Moms Examiner for Examiner.com. I write articles for work at home parents on my blog associated with The Wish Place. I review products produced by moms and dads and feature businesses run by moms and dads on my Buy By Mom blog. I write for various online publications and am also a political writer. My specialty is connecting people with great home business opportunities and providing unmatched one-on-one mentorship to those starting a home business. My passion, purpose and goal is to help parents work from home so they can be home with their children. To that end, I am a Legislative Advocate at the National and State levels to influence policy so that it is favorable to those in business.
This entry was posted in Julianne Wish, Member Contributions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

