This is not the path I started out on

Remember what we were like before we became parents? Barely, but yes. When my husband and I decided to create a family, somehow we thought our children would just easily fit into our busy lives like a new puppy. We had no idea the culture shock…the physical, mental and emotional transformation that would come about once our children became the centerpiece in our lives. No matter how much we had prepared, how many books we read, how much research we did – everything took a detour once baby made 3.

For many of us, the desire to become our own boss didn’t fully transpire until we became parents.  Our careers may have suited us just fine before we took on the parenthood project. We didn’t necessarily leave our careers because we didn’t have time for them anymore. All of a sudden we had a new love, something that filled our hearts and gave us more purpose than before.  The dilemma came when we realized we still had more to give.

Now more than ever, there should never be a question how necessary it is that we claim our success and stand up for our smart and savvy selves. No one can travel down your path, hold your actions accountable, or celebrate your story as well as you.  All this requires is a little creative discipline, and you really can fit it all into one life. This may not have been the path that you started out on, but if your look closely, you’ll see that this one is better.

Self -employed Parent Enthusiast Ally Loprete is the Founder of OurMilkMoney.com, a nationwide online business directory of self-employed parents,  and the host of This Little Parent Stayed Home, a live weekly radio show, on The Toginet.com Radio Group which can be downloaded on iTunes.  Ally is on a mission to help other’s deal with the sometimes overwhelming prospect of leaving a full time job to start a new business, while running a full time household and raising kids. She is resolute about creating a haven in which parents across the nation will continue to thrive and obtain the support they need in their personal journeys. Self-employed parents, list your business for free at  http://www.ourmilkmoney.com. Private coaching is available at http://www.thislittleparent.info.

About A Wishful Thought

I am a military wife, mother, business owner, professional writer, blogger and legislative advocate. I am an entrepreneur. At Villanova University I studied Operations Management specializing in Program and Project Management. I worked at various oil refineries honing my skills and ultimately opened my own consulting firm. I consulted on Environmental Restoration and defense projects including software development, satellite development and programming, phased array radars, helicopter and tank development, etc. I decided to take new direction in life when I became pregnant in 2000. I founded my own corporation, Wish Enterprises, Inc., to fulfill my own wish of being able to stay home with my son while contributing to the family income. With my husband’s full support, I developed and founded The Wish Place. I now also own Buy By Mom to continue to my mission of assisting parents who want to be successful in their businesses. I am the Director of Communications for Our Milk Money, the Colorado State Leader for the National Association for Moms in Business and the Colorado State Coordinator for Smart Girl Politics. I am a professional writer and blogger. I am the Colorado Springs Stay-at-Home Moms Examiner for Examiner.com. I write articles for work at home parents on my blog associated with The Wish Place. I review products produced by moms and dads and feature businesses run by moms and dads on my Buy By Mom blog. I write for various online publications and am also a political writer. My specialty is connecting people with great home business opportunities and providing unmatched one-on-one mentorship to those starting a home business. My passion, purpose and goal is to help parents work from home so they can be home with their children. To that end, I am a Legislative Advocate at the National and State levels to influence policy so that it is favorable to those in business.
This entry was posted in Ally Loprete and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

